National Payroll Institute Certified Payroll Manager


The National Payroll Institute (hereafter referred to as the Institute) – formerly the Canadian Payroll Association – offers the Certified Payroll Manager (CPM) designation. According to the Institute, the CPM designation “is the next step for PCP designation holders looking to enter a management position. It gives you the valuable payroll compliance and management skills needed to advance.”

Individuals who complete the five required courses (Introduction to Payroll Management, Managerial Accounting, Compensation and Benefits Management, Organizational Behaviour Management, and Applied Payroll Management) are eligible to receive the CPM designation from the Institute. The Institute awards the designation. However, George Brown College Continuing Education has been recognized by the Institute as a provider of courses that are equivalent to some of the CPM designation’s academic course requirements.

For more information about the CPM designation, visit the Institute's Certified Payroll Manager web page.


You must have achieved the Institute's Payroll Compliance Practitioner (PCP) designation, met the payroll experience requirement, and received approval from the Institute. To satisfy the experience requirement, you must have obtained at least two years of experience being responsible for an organization's payroll function (or equivalent) in the past five years. To receive approval from the Institute, you must submit the Payroll Experience Prerequisite Application (PEPA).

Completion Details

The Introduction to Payroll Management and Applied Payroll Management course requirements cannot be met through George Brown courses. Those requirements can only be met through the Institute's online courses.

For each of the George Brown College courses listed here that you pass, you must use the Institute's transfer credit process and pay the Institute a transfer credit fee to get credit for the course registered in your personal National Payroll Institute record. You must achieve a grade of C (65%) or better in each of these George Brown College courses to be eligible for the CPM designation.

Certificate Stream

Core Courses (Three of Five)

Each of these meets the Institute's Managerial Accounting requirement (choose one):

This meets the Institute's Compensation and Benefits Management requirement:

This meets the Institute's Organizational Behaviour Management requirement:

Additional Information

Disclaimer: The CPM designation is awarded by the Institute. The information provided here does not represent the extent of the requirements for the CPM designation. The requirements are set by the Institute, not George Brown College, so you must follow the process listed on the Institute's website and meet the requirements applicable to you to achieve the CPM designation. The Institute's policies are subject to change without notice, and George Brown College is not responsible for any information errors or inaccuracies that result from a change in the Institute's policy.

Business Department
Office Location(s):